News & Info for Northwest Credit Unions
From Northwest Credit Union Association

Member & Chapter News

Encouraging job training, Numerica gives 30 computers to the Neighborhood Networks group. Plus loads of May chapter meetings announcements…

Want to have something included in Member & Chapter News? Send information to Mark Partridge: mpartridge@nwcua.org.

Numerica Gives Neighborhood Networks Computers
Numerica Credit Union, Spokane, Wash., donated 34 used computer towers to the nonprofit organization, Neighborhood Networks Technology Access Consortium (NNTAC) of Spokane.

NNTAC provides assistance and training of computer technology to the low-income residents in the Spokane community. They manage 30 computer labs located in four different low-income housing property management companies, senior centers and teen outreach organizations. The technology centers teach job training skills, ESL classes, and special educational programs for children. They provide links to local, state and federal welfare, health and social security offices.

Capitol Chapter Meeting Announces May Meeting
The Capital Chapter will host a networking session on May 19, 2011, beginning at 6:00 p.m. NWCUA President Troy Stang and SVP RoxAnne Kruger will outline the Association’s programming. The cost is $10.

Location
Calapooia Brewing Company
3140 Hill Street NE
Albany, OR 97321
541.928.1931

RSVP by Friday, May 13, to Steve Pagenstecher: 503 589-6202, Stephen@vhpecu.org

Eastern Oregon Chapter Meeting Announced
Eastern Oregon Chapter will be meeting on Friday, May 20, 2011. Mike Snow from Union Wallow Baker FCU will host the event at La Grande at Hot Lake Springs. The meeting will run from 10:00 a.m. until about 3:00 p.m., with lunch at noon. The cost for lunch and the tour will be about $20.00 per person.

Rooms will be available for those traveling from out of town: http://www.hotlakesprings.com

For more information and to RSVP, contact Barb Haggerty by Friday, April 29, 2011: 541-889-3149, bhaggerty@malheurfcu.org.

Mt. Hood Chapter May Meeting Announcement
Mt. Hood Chapter will meet at 5:45 p.m. on Wednesday, May 25, to discuss “How to Identify Elder Financial Abuse.” Speakers will be Detective Jay Pentheny and Holly Freewynn. Cost is $20 for chapter members and $30 for non-members. Checks should be made payable to “Mt. Hood Chapter.”

Location
Madison’s Grill
1109 SE Madison Street
Portland, OR 97214

Please RSVP by Friday, May 20 to Molly Bishop:503.513.8759, mbishop@providencecu.org.

OR Northwest Chapter Announces May Meeting
Oregon’s Northwest Chapter of Credit Unions will discuss the Credit Union Difference at its upcoming May 18 meeting. The discussion will be led by Cheri Perry, owner of Total Merchant Concepts. The meeting will begin at 6:00 p.m., with dinner at 6:30 p.m. The cost in $25.

For more details and to RSVP, contact Cathy Lawpaugh: 503-552-0123, clawpaugh@forestparkfcu.org.

Scholarships are also available. Send an email to Chapter President Rebecca Porter (rebecca.porter@firsttechcu.com) with the name of your credit union and how many people you’d like to send.

Location
The Kennedy School
5736 NE 33rd Avenue
Portland, OR  97211

Southeastern Washington Chapter May Meeting Announcement
The chapter meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, May 10 at noon at Magill’s in Pasco, Wash. 

Location
Magill’s Restaurant
3214 Road 68
Pasco, WA 99301
509.547.6448

For more details and to RSVP, contact Camellia Uhling: 509.545.1406, cuhling@monadfcu.com 

Snohomish County Chapter of Credit Unions
The Snohomish Chapter will be meeting on May 24 from 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Verity Credit Union’s SVP and Chief Marketing Officer Shari Storm will lead a discuss on “How To Be A Better Boss.” Cost is $25.00 per person, which can be paid online.

Location
Holiday Inn, Downtown Everett
3105 Pine Street
Everett, WA 98201
425.339.2000

 

Questions? Contact Director of Credit Union Development Kasey Rockwell: 503.350.2217, krockwell@nwcua.org.

Older Newer

Resource Center

Plug into our online toolkits.